It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Use the world’s most comprehensive database for multidisciplinary research. Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses and books dating back to 1966.
Over 8200 full-length streaming video programs from academic and commercial publishers including PBS, BBC, CNBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Bill Moyers Journal, the News Hour with Jim Lehrer. Also has entertaining films.
On-demand streaming video platform with documentaries related to several academic disciplines. Use the “Log In” to Mount Union on the page. A locked symbol in the database means that those videos are unavailable.
The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information: the PDR® , the most recognized drug information reference available in the U.S.; interactive drug information services for EHR/EMR systems; digital communication services; PDR.net®; and mobilePDR®
This is a powerful resource for medical personnel. It is updated regularly. It contains drug interaction data, lab interpretation, patient education specialty topics, measurement calculators and thousands of articles on medical subjects. Users need to create an account on campus when using this resource. If you are not on campus, please contact the reference desk. Please use your Mount Union email address. UpToDate will ask you to recreate your account after 87 days.Mobile Access Instructions
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American History in Video includes hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. American History in Video also includes hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel®, and others. Featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts: Pulitzer Prize-winning historian James McPherson and Ken Burns’s riveting PBS series
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
You must register an individual password for access. PublicRegisterOnline.com is the oldest and largest free annual report service. Providing fast online access to a company's financial information. Currently the directory lists over 5,000 annual reports and 10-K Filings for online viewing. Additional companies are added daily.
Business Stats is part of the Sage Stats application. It is a data download and visualization tool hosting business and industry data down to the zip code level. It contains more than 5,000 data series, and over 300 million data points from public and private sources, including Woods & Poole's extensive historical and projected statistics.
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Cambridge Core collection has e-books which covers subject areas from humanities to the sciences. This collection has many coursebooks available in eBook format and over 1.6 million journal articles.
Derwent Innovations Index provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas from Architecture to Zoology. The intuitive, visual interface invites exploration of the discipline-specific Commons by mousing over the color wheel.
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations contains 600 videos of physics experiments available for viewing and downloading. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics. The demonstrations are augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Videos are accompanied by a printer-friendly PDF page which may contain graphics, tables or figures not easily rendered on the Web. Videos are available in RealVideo format and may be streamed or downloaded.
Finding Aid Repository allows researchers to search finding aids across institutions to locate archival materials and primary sources across the state. The EAD Finding Aid Creation Tool and OhioLINK Repository (EAD FACTORy) will help archivists ensure broad-based access to archival collections and local history collections by providing a solution for institutions wishing to create and deliver finding aids according to the Encoded Archival Description standard. Finding aids are descriptive tools that come in a variety of formats and levels of detail that describe the contents of archival or manuscript collections. EAD is an international standard for encoding archival finding aids, making them standardized in structure as well as more predictably searchable in collaborative electronic repository environments.
Foreign Language Video Instruction is a collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. These videos are produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
JoVE Core Chemistry brings general chemistry concepts to life using concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons. Plus, in the scientist-in-action videos, we demonstrate classical and original research experiments performed in today's laboratories worldwide.
JoVE Core Social Psychology brings the foundations of our social world to life. Through 66 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons, we explain key concepts in the field. Plus, in another 25 scientist-in-action videos, we demonstrate classical and original research experiments performed in the laboratory.
JoVE Core series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in today’s laboratories.
Local Stats is part of the Sage Stats application. It is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 100 different government and non government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and more.
MIT Press Direct ebooks(link sends e-mail) publishes significant works from leading educators and researchers around the globe. These highly regarded e-books could be used as supplemental course materials across many disciplines.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center is a collection of digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures.
The original documents are found in the Gilder Lehrman Collection of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The digital images were made available through the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection is a collection of photos of forestry, dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
Oxford Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.
Featuring both SAGE Original Cases and cases from twenty global content partners, the collection spans a wide range business and management disciplines from leadership and entrepreneurship, to family business and women in leadership. The platform allows for easy browsing, downloads, and sharing, and most cases include teaching notes and discussion questions to ensure effective classroom use.
Faculty, please read More Info for access to Instructor Notes:
Sage Business Cases: This product includes Teaching Notes with suggested teaching strategies, target audience, and discussion questions to support integrating cases into courses. To keep these Teaching Notes visible to faculty only, the Sage website requires that faculty create a user account and enter an activation code in order to view the Teaching Notes. Faculty will need to request this code from their library in order to view the Teaching Notes. Sage has a step-by-step instruction video for setting up a faculty member's account with the activation code for Teaching Notes. This will be covered in the webinars as well.
Note that Sage has to turn on Teaching Notes functionality for each institution one at a time, and as of the first week of January, this process is not yet complete. If you don't see access to the Teaching Notes even when using an account and adding the activation code, let us know at email@example.com .
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art from these textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages Stokstad's History of Art Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
State Stats part of the Sage Stats application. It is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia from more than 80 different government and non government sources. It spans topics like healthcare, crime, education, and more.
The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.