Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowUse the world’s most comprehensive database for multidisciplinary research. Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals as well as ebooks
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete is an online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
- SPORTDiscus with Full text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
Search Mechanics
Now that you have your topic and question in hand (or close enough to continue searching, at least), the next step is to break it down into concepts and keywords. We’ll be using these keywords to construct a search in scholarly article databases such as Academic Search Complete.
- Take your topic or research question
We’ve refined the question to be more specific at this point, so you can focus your search and reduce the amount of irrelevant results that would clutter up your searches.
How has the popularity of sports films been used as a tool to teach social values?
- Break it down into its core concepts
Identify the core concepts. These can come from your research question or from the background reading you’ve done. Avoid words like effect and impact, as those words are used often and would only make your results harder to parse.
How has the popularity of sports films been used as a tool to teach social values?
- Identify a few synonyms for each concept
This is the most important step. The search engine is very literal and will not search for what it thinks you mean, only what you type in. So we need to list the variations or synonyms ourselves to make sure we are not missing anything
Popularity = popularity or peer status or likability or acceptance
Sports = sports or athletics or athletes
films = films or motion picture or cinema or movies
Tool = tool or technique or strategy or method or device or vehicle
Teach = teach or teaching or educate or educating or impart or imparting
Social = social or cultural
Values = values or beliefs or opinions or attitudes
After breaking down your question into keywords, we take them to one of the recommended databases and start searching.
Using the keywords from the previous step, we can construct a search that will try to find articles that contain all of these words. Use one concept per box. The more words we add, the smaller the number of results will be.
These databases work a little differently than open web search engines like Google. The most important thing to remember is that these databases are very precise and will only look for the words we use. If you are not finding anything useful, then we’ll need to try different words. Which is why we spent some time figuring out other synonyms ahead of time.
We can use OR to expand our search and look for multiple words at the same time. For example, this search is now looking for sources that contain sports or athletics instead of just one. Use this to search for the different synonyms you identified at the same time.
Too few results?
- Review your keywords. There might be better or more commonly used options in this discipline. Look at a relevant article and dissect it to see what words they are using.
- You might be using too many keywords. Start removing them until the results grow to acceptable numbers.
- You might not be in the right database, or you might be in a smaller database. Check what other options you have (and if you cannot find any other databases, you can always use EasySearch).
Too many results?
- Add more concepts. You have much more room to work with, so don’t be afraid to add more sets of keywords to your search.
- Review how much you expanded the search with OR. Some words can add a lot of results without really making them more relevant. Find these generic words and cut them.
- Use the filters on the left-hand side of the results to refine the results further. “Subject” in particular can be helpful.
Results not relevant?
- Review your keywords. There might be better or more commonly used options in this discipline. Look at a relevant article and dissect it to see what words they are using.
- Try to find one article that is in the neighborhood of your topic (or at least the broader discipline). From there, you can dissect the abstract and the article itself to find new concepts and keywords you can use in your search.
- Talk to a reference librarian for advice. They have the expertise to diagnose your search strategy and help you find what you need.
Research Help
Research is Messy, Part 2
Take a moment to see how your research is going. If things feel more difficult than they should be, you might need to go back to a previous step and refine your question or keywords. When you encounter a setback while researching, remember to not be hard on yourself and take a little time to consider your next steps. Above all else, do not panic. You can always talk to a librarian to help get unstuck.
Saving Articles in EBSCO
Interlibrary Loan
No full text available? Only have the citation? You can use EasySearch or the Journal Finder to see if we have the article in a different database. If we do not, we can still order it for you through Interlibrary Loan.