Biochemistry: Resources

This division showcases its commitment to advance the science of chemical characterization and measurement to shape the future with resources, news, awards, job board, conferences, and more.

The Analytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL) collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences.

MassBank data are useful for the chemical identification and structure elucidation of chemical comounds detected by mass spectrometry.

This database provides access and search capability for NIST critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities.

Searchable database of over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines. Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. This is a free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Japan

Help with spectra interpretation: enter a data point, and this site will return a table of possible chemical functional groups that would product that result. Enter H-NMR chemical shift, FT-IR wavenumber, or Mass Spec m/e value.

Professional and peer-reviewed content hosted by Wiley Analytical Library

A description of THz infrared spectra measured by the National Institute of Standards and Technology

Useful information about the Organic Chemistry division, including resources, conferences, awards and fellowships, and careers and networking.

ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.

A database of 2483 organic compounds searchable by physical property. Each record contains molecular weight, density, index of refraction, boiling & melting points, and UV, IR, NMR, and Mass Spec peaks.

Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. This is a free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Japan

The Physical Chemistry Division provides news about award winners, webinars, call for papers, and symposiums.

The Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) has conducted a project to establish internationally agreed values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances.

Listing of constants used in physical chemistry calculations.

A compilation of kinetics data on gas-phase reactions

Find chemical and physical property data, spectra, etc. Search by chemical formula, name, CAS registry number, and more.

The EPA's guide with information about specific chemicals as well as how to produce safer chemicals and regulate harmful substances.

More than 1,600 Fact Sheets with information on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills for known hazardous substances.

Created by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, the ATSDR ToxFAQs™ is a series of summaries about hazardous substances developed by the ATSDR Division of Toxicology.

The CHE Toxicant and Disease Database is a searchable database that summarizes links between chemical contaminants and approximately 180 human diseases or conditions.

Open access course created by MIT Open Courseware that teaches the basics of biochemistry and cell composition.

Biochemistry topics presented as virtual flashcards by StudyStack.com

Biochemistry Research is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles covering all areas of biological chemistry.

MIT OpenCourseWare offers free course materials for biological engineering, including lecture notes, assignments, and exams for undergraduate and graduate students.

The Open Biochemistry Journal is an open-access online journal dedicated to the rapid publication of original research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, letters and guest edited single topic issues in all sub-disciplines of biochemistry (including genomics, gene expression, replication, proteomics, structural biology, enzymology, bioenergetics, metabolism, signal transduction, bioinformatics, cell biology, glycoscience, glycobiology, glycochemistry, glycotechnology, pharmacology, enzyme inhibition, inhibitory processes, immunochemistry, macromolecules, biopolymers, and nitric oxide).

SOJ Biochemistry (SOJB) is an international peer-reviewed, open access publication which gives prominence to advanced research carried out in the field of biochemistry and its interdisciplinary branches.