Featured Resources
- My Congressional DistrictThis resource gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level.
- Voting and Registration from Federal ElectionsCensus data about voting and registration for federal elections throughout history can be found here.
Statistical Resources
The government provides a great deal of statistical information. The U.S. Census Bureau is rapidly making the resources more accessible. Two new resources, Explore Census Data (data.census.gov) and Census Business Builder, allow users to search through multiple interactive layer datasets. Updated versions are introduced every other month. Because of this rapid change, it is best to use the help options on the websites. In addition, the most recent instructional webinars are available at the Data Gems webpage.
- Census Business Builder (CBB)The CBB presents data for all sectors of the economy and for a user-defined region combining census, business, and other government data.
- Explore Census Data or "data.census.gov"Also known as data.census.gov, this is a source for population, economic, housing and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island areas. This is the early release test site for the Census' interactive, multiple dataset searching tool.
Tutorial
- Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD)The LEHD provides tools showing hires, turnovers and tracks job mobility with the "Job to Job Flows" tool. Post secondary education outcomes (PSEO) tool is a joint project between university systems and the Census Bureau to track employment and earnings by degree level. Veteran Employment Outcomes (VEO) is currently experimental and tracks veteran employment.
- QuickFacts from the U.S.CensusThis resource provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- U.S. Government Open DataThis resource provides data for the following areas: agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety and science.
- CIA World FactbookThis resource provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military as well as transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.