Finding Books, eBooks & Film
The American Sign Language Club at UMU provides education about Deaf Culture and assistance to help develop signing skills to the students at the University of Mount Union through weekly discussions, guest speakers, trips, and other similar activities. Membership is open to all interested students.
Learn more about ASL accents:
The Words in My Hands by Call Number: PZ7.A8408 Wo 2021ISBN: 9781773215280Publication Date: 2021-11-30
Evidence-Based Practices in Deaf Education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190880545Publication Date: 2018-09-25
The Collectors by Call Number: CRC WEST W515co1c (LEVEL 5)ISBN: 9780062691699Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Interdisciplinarity in Translation and Interpreting Process Research by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789027242600Publication Date: 2015-06-11
Signing Everyday Phrases by Call Number: CRC DISABILITIES 305.945 SIGN LANGUAGE F628sipISBN: 0399522360Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Search Subject Headings
The Dewey Decimal System still uses terms that depict deafness as a loss, such as hearing impairment, disorder, or disability for medical purposes. The Deaf Community does not view itself as a disabled.
- American Sign Language
- Deaf
- Deafblind
- Deaf Biography
- Deaf Culture
- Hearing Disordered
- Hearing Impaired
The State Library of Ohio has a longstanding partnership with the Ohio School for the Deaf, working together to provide information for and about people who are Deaf or hard of hearing. This collection is available via OhioLINK.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowAmerican History in Video includes hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. American History in Video also includes hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel®, and others. Featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts: Pulitzer Prize-winning historian James McPherson and Ken Burns’s riveting PBS series
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Films On Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new windowFull-length documentaries, popular films, and streaming video programs from academic and commercial publishers including PBS, BBC, CNBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Bill Moyers Journal, the News Hour with Jim Lehrer.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowPredominantly encyclopedias and subject essays, Gale Ebooks cover the following subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
- MIT Press Direct eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct publishes significant works from leading educators and researchers around the globe. These highly regarded e-books can be used as supplemental course materials across many disciplines. This is a perpetual GEER resource. - Oxford Scholarship Online Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access an online library of over 15,000 outstanding academic books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law, OSO is an essential research resource for student, scholar, and academic alike, no matter what their subject specialty. - Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**
This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. - University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanning over thirty subjects, University Press Scholarship Online(UPSO) is an online library that brings tens of thousands of books from some of the world's best university presses, including Oxford University Press, on to a single, easy-to-use resource. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
- Ohio Digital Library: Deaf Culture & ASLTo access the Ohio Digital Library you can create instantly create a library card.
It is impossible for a library to own every book, journal, video, article, etc. that a campus community would want to read or watch, but interlibrary loan fills that void. We participate with OhioLINK for a lot of our interlibrary loan items which provides us with intrastate borrowing and lending. Due to COVID-19 and a desire to protect users and library staff, it will take longer for items to arrive due to changes in delivery and processing procedures.
Finding Books
How do you find books about the Deaf in the library? Start with the item's location and call number.
The location tells you where the item is located in the library. Our most common locations are:
- Main Books: New 3rd Floor, Old 3rd Floor, Old 2nd Floor, and Basement (depends on the call number)
- Curriculum Resource Center: Old 3rd Floor
- Oversize: Basement
- Reference: Basement
- Reference Oversize: Basement
Call numbers tell you where the item is located as well as its subject. The University Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to arrange all library items. Psychology is spread throughout the Dewey Decimal System.
- 305.908: Deaf culture
- 305-9081: History
- 362.4: Deaf People
- 362.42: Deafness problems and services
- 371.912: Deaf Education
- 419: Sign Languages
- 617.8 thru 617.89: Medical aspect
When you are in the shelves, look at the neighboring items because you might find other books that fit your needs as well.