LibGuides: Communication: Videos

Kanopy Videos: Communication Studies

Video	Year	License Expires
Advertising and The End of The World	1997	March 2, 2025
Advertising at the Edge of the Apocalypse	2017	March 2, 2025
Class Dismissed - How TV Frames the Working Class	2005	March 2, 2025
Further off the Straight & Narrow - New Gay Visibility on Television, 1998-2006	2006	March 2, 2025
Killing Us Softly 4 - Advertising's Image of Women	2010	March 2, 2025
Latinos Beyond Reel - Challenging a Media Stereotype	2012	March 2, 2025
Rich Media, Poor Democracy - How Journalism is Compromised by Corporations	2003	March 2, 2025
Tough Guise 2 - Violence, Manhood & American Culture	2013	March 2, 2025
Toxic Sludge is Good for You - The Public Relations Industry Unspun	2002	March 2, 2025
White Like Me - Race, Racism & White Privilege in America	2013	March 2, 2025

Video Databases

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
*Digital Accessibility Information
*Alexander Street Video Basic Search Tutorial
* "Learning Tools" on database homepage also available
Films On Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Full-length documentaries, popular films, and streaming video programs from academic and commercial publishers including PBS, BBC, CNBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Bill Moyers Journal, the News Hour with Jim Lehrer.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video platform with documentaries related to several academic disciplines.
The homepage will say "University of Mount Union". Create a login using your @mountunion.edu email account and your unique password.
A closed lock symbol or a "request" option in the database means that those videos are unavailable. Only faculty can request a new title.

Kanopy search help.
Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**

This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences.