New Books
Criminal Justice Books
The Myth of Overpunishment: A Defense of the American Justice System and a Proposal to Reduce Incarceration While Protecting the Public by Call Number: HV9304 .L389 2022ISBN: 9781645720324Publication Date: 2022-06-21
Just Pursuit: A Black Prosecutor's Fight for Fairness by Call Number: KF373.C585 A3 2022ISBN: 9781982173760Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Punishment Without Trial: Why Plea Bargaining Is a Bad Deal by Call Number: 345.73072 H587pISBN: 9781419750298Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Crime and Social Justice in Indian Country by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816537815Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Subject Search Terms
- Corrections
- Crime -- Sociological Aspects
- Crime Scene Searches
- Criminal Evidence
- Criminal Investigation
- Criminology
- Diversity Issues in Criminal Justice
- Drugs and Society
- Environmental Justice
- Forensic Science
- Incarceration
- Juvenile Delinquency
- Law Enforcement Administration
- Racial Profiling in Law Enforcement
- Women Prisoners
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowPredominantly encyclopedias and subject essays, Gale Ebooks cover the following subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
- MIT Press Direct eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct publishes significant works from leading educators and researchers around the globe. These highly regarded e-books can be used as supplemental course materials across many disciplines. This is a perpetual GEER resource. - Oxford Scholarship Online Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access an online library of over 15,000 outstanding academic books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law, OSO is an essential research resource for student, scholar, and academic alike, no matter what their subject specialty. - Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**
This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. - University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanning over thirty subjects, University Press Scholarship Online(UPSO) is an online library that brings tens of thousands of books from some of the world's best university presses, including Oxford University Press, on to a single, easy-to-use resource. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
It is impossible for a library to own every book, journal, video, article, etc. that a campus community would want to read or watch, but interlibrary loan fills that void. We participate with OhioLINK for a lot of our interlibrary loan items which provides us with intrastate borrowing and lending.
Finding Books
How do you find criminal justice books in the library? Start with the item's location and call number.
The location tells you where the item is located in the library. Our most common locations are:
- Main Books: New 3rd Floor, Old 3rd Floor, Old 2nd Floor, and Ground Floor (depends on the call number)
- Curriculum Resource Center: Old 3rd Floor
- Oversize: Ground Floor
- Reference: Old 2nd Floor
- Reference Oversize: Ground Floor
Call numbers tell you where the item is located as well as its subject. The University Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to arrange all library items.
- 340: Law
- 345: Criminal Law
- 346: Civil Procedures
- 360: Social Problems
- 363: DNA Fingerprinting
- 364: Criminology
- 365: Penal institutions
Library of Congress Classification
- HV6001-7220.5: Criminology
- HV7231-9960: Criminal justice administration
- HV7428: Social work with delinquents and criminals
- HV7431: Prevention of crime, methods, etc.
- HV7435-7439: Gun control
- HV7551-8280.7: Police. Detectives. Constabulary
- HV7935-8025: Administration and organization
- HV8031-8080: Police duty. Methods of protection
- HV8035-8069: Special classes of crimes, offenses and criminals
- HV8073-8079.35: Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners
- HV8301-9920.7: Penology. Prisons. Corrections
- HV9051-9230.7: The juvenile offender. Juvenile delinquency. Reform schools, etc.
- HV9261-9430.7: Reformation and reclamation of adult prisoners
- K201-487: Jurisprudence. Philosophy and theory of law
- K5000-5582: Criminal law and procedure
- KF: Law of the United States
- KZD1002-6715: Space law. Law of outer space
When you are in the shelves, look at the neighboring items because you might find other books that fit your needs as well.
