Video Databases
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowAmerican History in Video includes hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. American History in Video also includes hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel®, and others. Featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts: Pulitzer Prize-winning historian James McPherson and Ken Burns’s riveting PBS series
- Films On Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new windowFull-length documentaries, popular films, and streaming video programs from academic and commercial publishers including PBS, BBC, CNBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Bill Moyers Journal, the News Hour with Jim Lehrer.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video platform with documentaries related to several academic disciplines.
The homepage will say "University of Mount Union". Create a login using your @mountunion.edu email account and your unique password.
A closed lock symbol or a "request" option in the database means that those videos are unavailable. Only faculty can request a new title.
Kanopy search help. - World History in Video This link opens in a new windowThis online collection of streaming video gives faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. A rich survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall,World History in Video is truly global in scope.
