Persistent Link Introduction
General Information about Persistent Links
Why use a Persistent LInk?
1. Use a persistent link in your D2L in order to give your students access to e-resources.
2. It is a copyright compliance best practice to embed a persistent link directly into your D2L page or syllabus. This guide will show you how to find and embed a persistent link from some of UMU's frequently used databases.(See the purple tabs at the top of this LibGuide to find specific database types.)
What is a Persistent Link?
Links that will be maintained for a long period of time are called "permalinks" or "persistent links". These are reliable.
Types of Persistent Links:
- DOI
- Permalinks
How to find the Persistent Link? (See the LibGuide tabs for specific databases)
Helpful rules of thumb:
1. When searching within a database, if the URL in the address bar has the term "session" in the address, it is NOT a permalink.
2. Often an article within UMU databases will have both a DOI and a permalink in the search results. The permalink is recommended by most database companies. DOIs are also reliable.
3. When you are not using a UMU database, be aware that the URLs in the address bar may not be a reliable link. When you use them over different semesters, check them. You will not get a "heads up" before they change.
How do I make certain students can access the link Off and On Campus?
Your persistent link will not work off campus, unless you add a UMU approved prefix.
The library pays for databases. As such, not everyone has access. The gatekeeper to access is the prefix of the URL. There are two possible prefixes.
1. https://login.mt.opal-libraries.org/login?url= (Ohio Private Academic Libraries)
or
2. https://go.ohiolink.edu/goto?url= (OhioLINK Libraries)
Example for adding the prefix:
If you search for an article in the Academic Search Complete database, in the results page, to the left of the title, you will see "Tools". Scroll down the column to "Persistent LInk" and click. A pop up box will appear with the permalink to use: "https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=57932292&site=ehost-live" . Copy it.
Paste this Permalink into your D2L. Now add the prefix https://login.mt.opal-libraries.org/login?url= in front of that link address. It should look like this in your D2L: https://login.mt.opal-libraries.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=57932292&site=ehost-live
Use this same process for a DOI to give access to your link Off Campus.
What do you do if you don't see either of the prefixes above in your persistent link?
See the individual LibGuide tabs for specific help or contact a librarian.
FYI, Sometimes the generated permalink will contain the prefix within the link. If so, you do not need to add the prefix. It will work off campus.
