New Books
Finding Books & eBooks
Ubuntu Philosophy for the New Normalcy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789811978173Publication Date: 2023-01-02
Star Wars and Philosophy Strikes Back by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119841432Publication Date: 2023-01-05
Subject Search Terms
- ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Choose radio button "Only content I can access" when searching. ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. Fields currently cover Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Historical, Economic, Environmental, European, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Musicology, Performance Studies (theater, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science/Technology, Sociology and Women’s Studies. - eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowPredominantly encyclopedias and subject essays, Gale Ebooks cover the following subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
- MIT Press Direct eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct publishes significant works from leading educators and researchers around the globe. These highly regarded e-books can be used as supplemental course materials across many disciplines. This is a perpetual GEER resource. - Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**
This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
It is impossible for a library to own every book, journal, video, article, etc. that a campus community would want to read or watch, but interlibrary loan fills that void. We participate with OhioLINK for a lot of our interlibrary loan items which provides us with intrastate borrowing and lending.
Finding Books
How do you find philosophy books in the library? Start with the item's location and call number.
The location tells you where the item is located in the library. Our most common locations are:
- Main Books: New 3rd Floor, Old 3rd Floor, Old 2nd Floor, and Ground Floor (depends on the call number)
- Curriculum Resource Center: Old 3rd Floor
- Oversize: Ground Floor
- Reference: Old 2nd Floor
- Reference Oversize: Ground Floor
Call numbers tell you where the item is located as well as its subject. The University Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to arrange all library items.
- 100: Philosophy
- 110: Metaphysics
- 120: Epistemology
- 140: Philosophical schools of thought
- 160: Logic
- 170: Ethics
- 180: Ancient, medieval & Eastern philosophy
- 190: Modern Western philosophy
- 199: Philosophy in other geographic areas
- 305: Groups of people
Library of Congress Classification
- B1-5802: Philosophy (General)
- B69-99: General works
- B108-5802: By period Including individual philosophers and schools of philosophy
- B108-708: Ancient
- B720-765: Medieval
- B770-785: Renaissance
- B790-5802: Modern
- B808-849: Special topics and schools of philosophy
- B850-5739: By region or country
- B5800-5802: By religion
- BC1-199: Logic
- BD10-701: Speculative philosophy
- BH1-301: Aesthetics
- BJ1-1725: Ethics
- BL1-2790: Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
When you are in the shelves, look at the neighboring items because you might find other books that fit your needs as well.