New Books
Finding Books & eBooks
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History by Call Number: 270.0896 O98gISBN: 9780190221171Publication Date: 2018-04-02
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Call Number: 200.97303 O98cISBN: 9780190456160Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Ministering Spiritually to Families by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319133027Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The New Interpreter's Bible Commentary Ten Volume Set by Call Number: 220 I61anISBN: 9781426739125Publication Date: 2015-10-20
- The Bible in English This link opens in a new windowThe Bible in English contains twenty-one versions of the Bible in full text, from the 10th to the 20th centuries: thirteen complete Bibles, five editions of the New Testament, two editions of the Gospels, and William Tynsdale’s translations of the New Testament, Pentateuch, and Jonah. The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars of English literature and history of the language, as well as those in biblical and theological studies. Protestant, Roman Catholic, and nonconformist editions of the Bible are all included to allow searching and comparison across different centuries and religious beliefs. Several Internet sites provide one or more versions of the Bible for public access, including the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative, The On-Line Books Page, and Project Gutenberg.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of selected journals in the areas of arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences. This link gives the current status of access to EJC titles. For some, links are provided through publishers' web sites. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowPredominantly encyclopedias and subject essays, Gale Ebooks cover the following subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.
- MIT Press Direct eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct publishes significant works from leading educators and researchers around the globe. These highly regarded e-books can be used as supplemental course materials across many disciplines. This is a perpetual GEER resource. - Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**
This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
It is impossible for a library to own every book, journal, video, article, etc. that a campus community would want to read or watch, but interlibrary loan fills that void. We participate with OhioLINK for a lot of our interlibrary loan items which provides us with intrastate borrowing and lending.
Finding Books
How do you find theological books in the library? Start with the item's location and call number.
The location tells you where the item is located in the library. Our most common locations are:
- Main Books: New 3rd Floor, Old 3rd Floor, Old 2nd Floor, and Ground Floor (depends on the call number)
- Curriculum Resource Center: Old 3rd Floor
- Oversize: Ground Floor
- Reference: Old 2nd Floor
- Reference Oversize: Ground Floor
Call numbers tell you where the item is located as well as its subject. The University Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to arrange all library items. Further subjects you may also think of interest are below.
264: Public worship
265: Sacraments, other rites & acts
266: Missions
270: Christian church history
282: Roman Catholic Church
283: Anglican churches
284: Protestants of Continental origin (Lutheran)
285: Presbyterian, Reformed, Congregational
286: Baptist, Disciples of Christ, Adventist
287: Methodist & related churches
289: Other denominations & sects
290: Other & comparative religions
291: Comparative religion/Koran/
292: Classical (Greek & Roman) religion
293: Germanic religion
294: Religions of Indic origin
295 :Zoroastrianism (Mazdaism, Parseeism)
296: Judaism
297: Islam, Babism, Bahai Faith
299: Other religions: New Age religions and other
When you are in the shelves, look at the neighboring items because you might find other books that fit your needs as well.
