Ohio Women Making History
Historic Movements & Women Trailblazers
Chingona: Owning Your Inner Badass for Healing and Justice by Call Number: E184.M5 Z37 2022ISBN: 9781506483184Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Rest Is Resistance: A Manifesto by Call Number: BJ1499.R4 H47 2022ISBN: 9780316365215Publication Date: 2022-10-11
Red Valkyries: The Revolutionary Women of Eastern Europe by Call Number: HQ1590.7 .G56 2022ISBN: 9781839766602Publication Date: 2022-07-12
Hotbed: Bohemian Greenwich Village and the Secret Club that Sparked Modern Feminism by Call Number: HQ1906.N5 S39 2022ISBN: 9781541647176Publication Date: 2022-06-07
Against White Feminism: Notes on Disruption by Call Number: 305.42 Z216aISBN: 9781324006619Publication Date: 2021-08-17
Feminism for the Americas: The Making of an International Human Rights Movement by Call Number: 305.42098 M339fISBN: 9781469649696Publication Date: 2019-03-04
After the Rise and Stall of American Feminism: Taking Back a Revolution by Call Number: 305.420973 C454aISBN: 9780804774376Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Finding Feminism: Millennial Activists and the Unfinished Gender Revolution by Call Number: 305.42 C951fISBN: 9781479898329Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Reclaiming Feminism: Challenging Everyday Misogyny by Call Number: 305.42 D249rISBN: 9781447328179Publication Date: 2016-08-01
The Fifth Star: Ohio's Fight for Women's Right to Vote by Call Number: JK1911.O4 C36 2023ISBN: 9781606354551Publication Date: 2023-04-18
The Suffragist Peace: How Women Shape the Politics of War by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780197629758Publication Date: 2023-02-01
Public Faces, Secret Lives: A Queer History of the Women's Suffrage Movement by Call Number: JK1896 .R68 2022ISBN: 9781479813940Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Recasting the Vote: How Women of Color Transformed the Suffrage Movement by Call Number: 324.623 C132reISBN: 9781469659329Publication Date: 2020-11-16
Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All by Call Number: 323.34092396073 J782vISBN: 9781541618619Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Front Pages, Front Lines: Media and the Fight for Women's Suffrage by Call Number: PN4888.W65 F76 2020ISBN: 9780252043109Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Suffrage: Women's Long Battle for the Vote by Call Number: 324.6230973 D815sISBN: 9781501165160Publication Date: 2020-02-25
A Century of Votes for Women: American Elections Since Suffrage by Call Number: 324.9730082 W848ceISBN: 9781107187498Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Lifting As We Climb: Black Women's Battle for the Ballot Box by Call Number: JK1898 .D56 2020ISBN: 9780451481542Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Around America to Win the Vote: Two Suffragists, a Kitten, and 10,000 Miles by Call Number: JK1898 .R63 2016ISBN: 9780763678937Publication Date: 2016-08-02
The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette's Journey to Cuba by Call Number: PS3555.N4254 E54 2010ISBN: 9780805090826Publication Date: 2010-03-16
So Tall Within: Sojourner Truth's Long Walk Toward Freedom by Call Number: E185.97.T8 S34 2018ISBN: 9781626728721Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Malala's Magic Pencil by Call Number: LC2330 .Y68 2017ISBN: 9780316319577Publication Date: 2017-10-17
The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin by Call Number: SF33.G67 M67 2017ISBN: 9781943147304Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Pocket Full of Colors: The Magical World of Mary Blair, Disney Artist Extraordinaire by Call Number: NC1766.U52 G84 2017ISBN: 9781481461313Publication Date: 2017-08-29
The World Is Not a Rectangle: A Portrait of Architect Zaha Hadid by Call Number: NA1469.H33 W56 2017ISBN: 9781481446693Publication Date: 2017-08-22
How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child by Call Number: DT450.863.U95 U95 2017ISBN: 9780062470140Publication Date: 2017-05-16
Grace Hopper: Queen of Computer Code by Call Number: V63.H66 W35 2017ISBN: 9781454920007Publication Date: 2017-05-16
Maya Lin: Artist-Architect of Light and Lines by Call Number: NA737.L48 H37 2017ISBN: 9781250112491Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Long May She Wave: The True Story of Caroline Pickersgill and Her Star-Spangled Creation by Call Number: E356.B2 F85 2017ISBN: 9781481460965Publication Date: 2017-05-02
The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist by Call Number: F334.B653 L48 2017ISBN: 9781481400701Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Caribbean Women and Their Art: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: NX523 .S66 2020ISBN: 9781538117194Publication Date: 2019-11-04
Women in the American Political System: An Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders by Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 W66 2019 v.1 - v. 2ISBN: 9781610699730Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Women in World Religions [2 Volumes]: Faith and Culture across History by Call Number: BL458 .E53 2019 v.1 - v. 2ISBN: 9781440848490Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Frontier Women and Their Art: A Chronological Encyclopedia by Call Number: 704.042092 S673fISBN: 9781538109755Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection by Call Number: HQ1410 .W66 2017 v.1 - v. 4ISBN: 9781610696029Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Library Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowWilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines peer-reviewed Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present. Includes audio clips.
- Women’s Studies International This link opens in a new windowWomen’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Related Guides
Director of Libraries
Carla Sarratt
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
KHIC 136
330-823-3847
Subjects: Accounting, Africana Studies, Autism Studies, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Entrepreneurship, Environmental Science, Human Resource Management, Leadership Studies, Legal Studies (Pre-Law), Management, Mechanical Engineering, Nursing, Peacebuilding and Social Justice, Reader's Advisory, Reference, Sport Business, Sustainability, UMU Libraries, Writing