Ohiolink
Need to go beyond Mount Union's resources? Ohiolink gives you access to over fifty million items. Please allow at least one week for delivery.
- OhioLINK Library Catalog OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio’s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK’s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
AccessPhysiotherapy
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowAccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool
Subjects
A sample of subjects to consider browsing for topics related to this subject.
Book Catalog
- F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The F.A. Davis PT Collection is a database of ebooks for educators and physical therapy students. Includes Davis's Drug Guide for Rehabilitation Professionals. - eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works.
Collections
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: A Quick A-to-Z Reference by
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: A Quick A-to-Z Reference is the most user-friendly and accessible available reference to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. Fully updated and revised, the second edition features more illustrations to enhance student learning and an expanded hot topics section to highlight key areas of research in sport and exercise. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts.
Call Number: 612.7 M659f2ISBN: 0367150565Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Handbook of Human Motion by
The Handbook of Human Motion is a large cross-disciplinary reference work which covers the many interlinked facets of the science and technology of human motion and its measurement. Individual chapters cover fundamental principles and technological developments, the state-of-the-art and consider applications across four broad and interconnected fields; medicine, sport, forensics and animation.
ISBN: 9783319144177Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Sports Science Handbook : the essential guide to kinesiology, sport and exercise science by Call Number: MTUNION REFERENCE 613.7103 J52s v.1 & v.2ISBN: 0906522366Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by
This text continues the Brunnstrom approach to kinesiology, dempahsizing unncessary computation and focusing on clinical application. It links theoretical concepts to their practical applications with Practice Points boxes ; Examines the properties of bone, cartilage, ligaments, and fascia ; Emphasizes the kinesiologic issue best illustrated for each region of the body ; Discusses joints, ligaments, end-feels, accessory joint motion, the innervation and anatomical actions of muscles, and applications of mechanical and physiological principles. It contains clinical applications and exercises including applications for sport, exercise, activities of daily living, leisure, and rehabilitation, as well as clinical scenarios with solutions.
ISBN: 9780803623521Publication Date: 2011-12-07
An Introduction to Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise by Call Number: MTUNION MAIN BOOKS 612.76 W335iISBN: 9780443102820Publication Date: 2007-07-27
Fundamentals of Motor Control by
Motor control is a relatively young field of research exploring how the nervous system produces purposeful, coordinated movements in its interaction with the body and the environment through conscious and unsconscious thought. Many books purporting to cover motor control have veered off course to examine biomechanics and physiology rather than actual control, leaving a gap in the literature. This book covers all the major perspectives in motor control, with a balanced approach. There are chapters explicitly dedicated to control theory, to dynamical systems, to biomechanics, to different behaviors, and to motor learning, including case studies. Reviews current research in motor control Contains balanced perspective between neuroscience, psychology, physics and biomechanics. Highlights controversies in the field. Discusses neurophysiology, control theory, biomechanics, and dynamical systems under one cover. Links principles of motor control to everyday behaviors Includes case studies delving into topics in more detail.
ISBN: 9780124159563Publication Date: 2012-08-08
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise by
As anyone who takes up a new sport quickly discovers, even basic athletic moves require high levels of coordination and control. Whether dribbling a basketball or hitting a backhand, limbs must be synchronized and bodies balanced, all with precise timing. But no matter how diligently we watch the pros or practice ourselves, the body's inner workings remain invisible. The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise reveals the microworld of the human body in motion, from the motor proteins that produce force, to the signaling molecules that activate muscles, to the enzymes that extract energy from nutrients. Christopher Gillen describes how biomolecules such as myosin, collagen, hemoglobin, and creatine kinase power our athletic movements. During exercise, these molecules dynamically morph into different shapes, causing muscles, tendons, blood, and other tissues to perform their vital functions. Gillen explores a wide array of topics, from how genetic testing may soon help athletes train more effectively, to how physiological differences between women and men influence nutrition. The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise tackles questions athletes routinely ask. What should we ingest before and during a race? How does a hard workout trigger changes in our muscles? Why does exercise make us feel good?Athletes need not become biologists to race in a triathlon or carve turns on a snowboard. But Gillen, who has run ten ultramarathons, points out that athletes wishing to improve their performance will profit from a deeper understanding of the body's molecular mechanisms.
ISBN: 9780674419919Publication Date: 2014-03-17
