LibGuides: EXS 220 "Foundations of Human Movement": Articles and Databases

No Full Text?

Only have the citation? You can use EasySearch or the Journal Finder to see if we have the article in a different database. If we do not, we can still order it for you through Interlibrary Loan.

UMU Interlibrary Loan Form

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that allows users to easily see the citations that an article has used or who else has cited that article. It is a very useful resource that allows you to turn one good article into potentially several articles.

Exercise Science Resources

Article Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
*EBSCO Digital Accessibility Information
*Tutorial
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of selected journals in the areas of arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences. This link gives the current status of access to EJC titles. For some, links are provided through publishers' web sites.
MEDLINE w/Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text journals.
A guide for using the "MESH subject headings"
*EBSCO Digital Accessibility Information
*Tutorial
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Helpful Resources: Medline Basic Search Tips Video
To find psychological tests: use the “Advanced” search option and add appropriate MeSH terms such as: “Psychological tests”, “Psychometrics”, “Psychiatric status rating scales” or “Questionnaires”.

Research Tips

Efficiently Reading (Articles)

The following guidelines can help you parse articles more quickly and find the information you need more efficiently.

Identify why you are reading this article
You want to have an idea of how this source might fit into your research so you know what to look out for.
Read the title and abstract
This is the first step towards discerning the author’s main points.
Read the conclusion
At this point, you should be able to judge whether the article is a relevant source or not.
Go through the article and read the section headings
This will give you an idea of the paper’s structure and what to expect.
Using what you learned from the abstract, introduction, and conclusion, go through the article looking for key propositions (statements that the author believes to be true)
Key propositions form the skeleton of the author’s arguments. By focusing on them as you go through the text, you can get to the heart of what the author’s key arguments.
Reread the conclusion
Now that you understand the greater context of the article, how does the conclusion connect to the other parts of the article that support it? Have you gained any other insights or understandings from reading the conclusion a second time? Those might be elements that are important for your own research.
Scan the bibliography
Finally, scan the titles listed in the bibliography. Now that you have a sense of important concepts and keywords, some articles might jump out at you as good sources.