New Books
Finding Books & eBooks
Canadian Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror: Bridging the Solitudes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030156848Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Transgender and the Literary Imagination by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474414661Publication Date: 2018-10-11
Before Harlem: An Anthology of African American Literature from the Long Nineteenth Century by Call Number: 810.9896 B415m and eBookISBN: 9781621902027Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Victorian Literature: An Anthology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118329047Publication Date: 2014-10-27
The Wiley Blackwell Anthology of African American Literature, Volume 1 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470657997Publication Date: 2014-01-13
Romanticism and Slave Narratives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521662345Publication Date: 2000-04-27
Telling America's Story to the World by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780192864635Publication Date: 2023-02-03
Latin American Literature in Transition 1980-2018: Volume 5 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781108838764Publication Date: 2022-12-08
White Literary Taste Production in Contemporary Book Culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781009234245Publication Date: 2023-02-23
Subject Search Terms
- African American Women in Literature
- American Literature
- American Literature -- African American Authors
- British Literature
- Caribbean Literature
- Children's Literature
- Creative Writing
- Gender Identity in Literature
- Global Anglophone Literature
- History of the English Language
- Indian (Native American) Literature
- Liberalism in Literature
- Literary Collections
- Literary Imagination
- People with Disabilities in Literature
- Poetry
- Social Justice in Literature
- Storytelling
- Young Adult Literature
- ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Choose radio button "Only content I can access" when searching. ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. Fields currently cover Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Historical, Economic, Environmental, European, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Musicology, Performance Studies (theater, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science/Technology, Sociology and Women’s Studies. - Cambridge University Press EBA Collection This link opens in a new windowCambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Cambridge Core collection has e-books which covers subject areas from humanities to the sciences. This collection has many coursebooks available in eBook format and over 1.6 million journal articles.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the Core Collection. This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications. (The padlocked plays are not accessible.) - eBook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central is a collection of scholarly eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection is a database that contains full text eBooks for multi-disciplinary academic
subject areas. - Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Oxford Scholarship Online Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access an online library of over 15,000 outstanding academic books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law, OSO is an essential research resource for student, scholar, and academic alike, no matter what their subject specialty. - Safari Books Online (O'Reilly) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You will need to create an academic login using your Mount Union email address. When you get into the database, it will say "Choose your institution." Select the first option in the list "Not listed? Click here." It will then ask you to create an account with your Mount Union email address. You will then receive an email to confirm and complete your new Safari account creation. If you already have an account, choose that option. **Do not sign up for a free trial.**
This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audiobooks, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities.
It is impossible for a library to own every book, journal, video, article, etc. that a campus community would want to read or watch, but interlibrary loan fills that void. We participate with OhioLINK for a lot of our interlibrary loan items which provides us with intrastate borrowing and lending.
Finding Books
How do you find literature books in the library? Start with the item's location and call number.
The location tells you where the item is located in the library. Our most common locations are:
- Main Books: New 3rd Floor, Old 3rd Floor, Old 2nd Floor, and Ground Floor (depends on the call number)
- Curriculum Resource Center: Old 3rd Floor
- Oversize: Ground Floor
- Reference: Old 2nd Floor
- Reference Oversize: Ground Floor
Call numbers tell you where the item is located as well as its subject. The University Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to arrange all library items.
- 800: Literature and rhetoric
- 809: Literary history & criticism
- 810: American or Canadian literature in English
- 811: American Poetry
- 812: American Drama
- 813: American Fiction
- 820: British literature in English
- 840: Literatures of Romance languages
- 850: Italian, Romanian, Rhæto-Romanic
- 860: Spanish & Portuguese literatures
- 880: Hellenic literatures; Classical Greek
- 890: Literatures of other languages
- 895: Literatures of East & Southeast Asia
- 895.1: Chinese
- 895.6: Japanese
- 895.7: Korean
- 896: African literatures
- 897: North American native literatures
- 898: South American native literatures
Library of Congress Classification
- PA201-899: Greek philology and language & literature
- PJ1-9500: Oriental philology and literature
- PL1-8844: Languages of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania & literature
- PM1-9021: Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages & literature
- PN1-6790: Literature (General)
- PN801-820: Romance literature
- PN1010-1525: Poetry
- PN3311-3503: Prose. Prose fiction
- PN4699-5650: Journalism
- PQ1-3999: French literature
- PQ6001-8929: Spanish literature
- PR1-9680: English literature
- PS1-3626: American literature
- PS8001-8599: Canadian literature
- PT1-4897: German literature
- PT6500-6593.36: Afrikaans literature
When you are in the shelves, look at the neighboring items because you might find other books that fit your needs as well.
