Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction & Search Engines
Government resources are a rich source for statistical and research information. Government resources are generally considered authoritative and scholarly sources of information. Additionally, most government resources have no copyright restrictions. Millions of government documents are currently being digitized by the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) with a goal to make them more accessible. Currently, some subject collections date back to the 1700s. Due to the amount of online information available, it is recommended researchers start by using a search engine or provided links with more specific topics to begin. For accessing datasets and statistical resources, use the "statistical resources" tab.
These are important links for searching through the many resources of the government information.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Research papers, databases, videos, statistics and articles from federal departments and agencies. Search Tip: Use drop down menus to find access under such terms as data, statistics, reports, research, etc.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Concerts from the Library of Congress
This resource has a new online platform that brings together the best of pre-existing videos of lectures, concerts, conversations and collection items on a variety of musical topics. Audiences can now enjoy from the comfort and safety of home a weekly playlist of recorded programs from across the Library curated by Music Division specialists.
This is a good general source for current information about legislative activities, publications and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
This is a key search engine for U.S. Federal government congressional, executive and legislative documents includes information on individual publications or collections of content or view an alphabetical list of resources.
Historical Abstracts of the United States
A supplement to the Statistical Abstracts of the United States; prepared by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council. Presents in compact form for ready reference, approximately 3,000 statistical time series which cover various periods from 1789 to 1970. These statistics reflect economic, social, and political development of the Nation since the Federal government was formally established.
Library of Congress (LC)
The LC has online research collections in many areas. There is an alphabetical list of collections by topic to help you narrow your search. There is also an impressive collection of maps.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Extensive digital collection covering sports, politics, art, etc.
Library of Congress Images
Government images are copyright free.
This is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. If a pdf is not available in the results, you can search the title in Google. Just make certain to include the phrase “government document” in the search box.
My Congressional District
This resource gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level.
The archives contain historical resources as well as a special area for educators
"Resources for Online Teaching & Learning"
-Online Programs for Students and Families
-Professional Development Webinars for Educators
-Resources for Online Teaching & Learning
-Elementary Age At-Home Learning Resources
-Middle School At-Home Learning and Online Teaching Resources
-High School At-Home Learning and Online Teaching Resources
National Film Registry of the Library of Congress
These are films in the public domain from the Library of Congress.
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The NLM, on the campus of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is the world’s largest biomedical library. NLM maintains, conducts and makes available research, development and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This resource provides occupational and career information including profiles on jobs in the United States. The profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook and median pay for workers.
Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.(For even more information about benefits from the U.S. Government, see the Partners listing.)
This is a gateway to U.S. government science R&D information from 13 federal agencies.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This resource has been published since 1878. It is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.
U.S. Social Security Handbook
This is a resource for the most common questions about Social Security.
A subject-based, public portal to Federal services and resources such as government agencies, officials, job information, travel and immigration. A Spanish site is also available.
The government provides a great deal of statistical information. The U.S. Census Bureau is rapidly making the resources more accessible. Two new resources, Explore Census Data and Census Business Builder, allow users to search through multiple interactive layer datasets. Updated versions are introduced every other month. Because of this rapid change, it is best to use the help options on the websites. In addition, the most recent instructional webinars are available at the FDLP Training Academy. You can search with keywords in the search box provided on that page.
Expert Tip: You can refine your search by using the Subject Table Codes listed here. Using a code will help you to narrow your search by knowing the datasets.
Census Business Builder (CBB)
CBB combines demographic information into one report. You can focus in on a track areas, counties and states. You can combine economic status, population, labor statistics, wages, farms, race, age and education data into one search. You can narrow a search to see how many types of businesses are in your area as well.
Census Business Builder: Regional Analyst Edition
The Regional Analyst Edition is primarily for chambers of commerce and regional planning staff who need a broad portrait of the people and businesses in their service area. It presents data for all sectors of the economy and for a user-defined region made up of one or more areas.
Explore Census Data
Also known as data.census.gov, this is a source for population, economic, housing and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island areas. This is the early release test site for the Census' interactive, multiple dataset searching tool. The data goes back to only the 2000 at this point.
Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD)
The LEHD provides tools showing hires, turnovers and tracks job mobility with the "Job to Job Flows" tool. Post secondary education outcomes (PSEO) tool is a joint project between university systems and the Census Bureau to track employment and earnings by degree level. Veteran Employment Outcomes (VEO) is currently experimental and tracks veteran employment.
QuickFacts from the U.S.Census
This resource provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
U.S. Government Open Data
This resource provides data for the following areas: agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety and science.
This resource provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military as well as transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE)
The CIGIE is composed of all federal U.S. Inspectors General whose offices are established under section 2 or section 8G of the Inspector General Act of 1978 (5 U.S.C. App.), those that are presidentially-appointed with Senate confirmation and those that are appointed by agency heads, such as the U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Department of Labor and the U.S. Agency for International Development. As of 2012, the CIGIE consisted of 73 Federal Offices of Inspector General.
In March 2020, the Pandemic Response Accountability Committee (PRAC) was created within the CIGIE to oversee the $2.2 trillion in government funds designated for response to the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States.
Office of the Inspector General (OIG)
The OIG is at the forefront of the Nation's efforts to fight waste, fraud and abuse in Medicare, Medicaid and more than 100 other Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) programs.
Election Assistance Commission OIG
The Office of Inspector General (OIG) is an independent division of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC). The OIG was created in 2005 and operates under the authorities vested in it by the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) and the Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended (IG Act). The mission of the OIG is to enhance the economy, efficiency, and effectiveness of EAC’s operations by: conducting audits, reviews, evaluations and assessments of EAC programs and operations; detecting and preventing fraud, waste, abuse and mismanagement of EAC programs; promoting better EAC management; preserving and protecting EAC employee and program integrity; and communicating with the Commission and Congress to keep them fully informed of the status of EAC administration and operations and the need for and progress of corrective actions.
, Earth Science
, Gender & Sexuality Studies
, Integrated Media
, Open Educational Resources
, Religious Studies
, Scholarly Communications
, UMU Libraries