Goverment Process Resources
- Budget of the U.S. GovernmentIssued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), this is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)The CGP is a search tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)The CFR annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the federal government. The new eCFR is being developed and available.
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationAlso known as the Constitution Annotated, this resource includes the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
- Economic IndicatorsPublished monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, federal finance and international statistics.
- Federal RegisterThe daily publication of the rules, proposed rules and notices of federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
- Guide to Law OnlinePrepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, the Guide is an annotated resources which include selected links to International, Nations of the World, U.S. Federal Code, U.S. States and Territories, Indigenous Law Portal and the Guide Index.
- Plum Book (United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions)Published by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs and House Committee on Government Reform alternately after each Presidential election, the Plum Book lists over 7,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide.
- U.S. CodeThis is a codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
- U.S. Government ManualThe official handbook of the U.S. government, the Manual provides information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the U. S. participates.
This is the beginning of a series of videos that briefly explain different parts of the legislative process. Click on the video to get access to the video series.
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New NationThis resource brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
- Committees of the U.S. CongressProfile pages for committees active in the current Congress are listed here. Committee Name History includes information about terminated committees and commissions authorized to interact with the Congress.Gov data sets. The Committee Consideration tutorial explains committees within the context of the legislative process.
- Congress.GovThis is a good general source for current information about legislative activities, publications and other related materials for members of Congress and the public. Searching Video Tutorial
- Congressional RecordThis is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS)CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
- Congressional WebsiteThis website provides information about the legislative branch of the United States, including meeting times and dates, what bills are being discussed and information about the representatives.
- Official Congressional DirectoryThe Congressional Directory includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service and related content. (Note: This is entitled Congressional Directory in Govinfo.)
- U.S. Statutes at LargeThis resource contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
Executive Branch
The power of the Executive Branch is vested in the President of the United States, who also acts as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President is responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws written by Congress and, to that end, appoints the heads of the federal agencies, including the Cabinet. The Vice President is also part of the Executive Branch, ready to assume the Presidency should the need arise.
The Cabinet and independent federal agencies are responsible for the day-to-day enforcement and administration of federal laws. These departments and agencies have missions and responsibilities as widely divergent as those of the Department of Defense and the Environmental Protection Agency, the Social Security Administration and the Securities and Exchange Commission. Including members of the armed forces, the Executive Branch employs more than 4 million Americans.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThis collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. It is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
- The Economic Report of the President to the CongressAn annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
- Office of the U.S. Trade RepresentativeThis resource provides information on the Executive Orders and press releases from the U.S. President, including Trade Agreements and other issues.
- Presidential Executive OrdersThis resource provides consecutively numbered official documents through which the President of the United States manages the operations of the federal government.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesThis is the official publication of the President’s addresses, writings and remarks.
- WhiteHouse.GovThis resource contains information concerning the President of the United States and the White House, including issues on National Security, Budget, Immigration and Health Care. It also provides historical information about the White House's Administration and the different Executive Offices of the U.S. government.
Where the Executive and Legislative branches are elected by the people, members of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.
Article III of the Constitution, which establishes the Judicial Branch, leaves Congress significant discretion to determine the shape and structure of the federal judiciary. Even the number of Supreme Court Justices is left to Congress — at times there have been as few as six, while the current number (nine, with one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices) has only been in place since 1869. The Constitution also grants Congress the power to establish courts inferior to the Supreme Court, and to that end Congress has established the United States district courts, which try most federal cases, and 13 United States courts of appeals, which review appealed district court cases.
- Federal Judicial CenterThis is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the United States government. The Center supports the efficient, effective administration of justice and judicial independence. Its status is a separate agency within the judicial branch. The Center has no policy-making or enforcement authority. Its role is to provide accurate, objective information and education and to encourage thorough and candid analysis of policies, practices and procedures.
- U.S. Court OpinionsThe term "opinions" as used here, refers to several types of writing by the Justices:
1. Bench
2. Slip Opinions consist of the majority or principal opinion, any concurring or dissenting opinions written by the Justices,
3. Preliminary Prints
4. Bound Volumes: The opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States are published officially in a set of case books called the U.S. Reports. - U. S. ReportsThis resource contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Established by Article I of the Constitution, the Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form
Congress. The Constitution grants Congress the sole authority to enact legislation and declare war, the right to confirm or reject many Presidential appointments, and substantial investigative powers.
The House of Representatives is made up of 435 elected members, divided among the 50 states in proportion to their total population. In addition, there are 6 non-voting members, representing the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and four other territories of the U.S. The presiding officer of the chamber is the Speaker of the House, elected by the Representatives. He or she is third in the line of succession to the Presidency.
- U.S. House of RepresentativesThe website offers information about the House of Representatives including votes and committees.
- U.S. House of Representatives Archival WebsiteThis resource includes information about different Congresses, Presidential vetos, collections, oral histories and educational materials for teaching students about the House of Representatives.
- U.S. House of Representatives Live HearingsThe U.S. Government broadcasts live hearings on economic relief. To access them, use search terms such as "homeless", "COVID" "stimulus package" or "economic relief".
The Senate is composed of 100 Senators, 2 for each state. Until the ratification of the 17th Amendment in 1913, Senators were chosen by state legislatures, not by popular vote. Since then, they have been elected to six-year terms by the people of each state. Senator’s terms are staggered so that about one-third of the Senate is up for reelection every two years. Senators must be 30 years of age, U.S. citizens for at least nine years, and residents of the state they represent.
The Vice President of the United States serves as President of the Senate and may cast the decisive vote in the event of a tie in the Senate.
The Senate has the sole power to confirm those of the President’s appointments that require consent, and to ratify treaties. There are, however, two exceptions to this rule: the House must also approve appointments to the Vice Presidency and any treaty that involves foreign trade. The Senate also tries impeachment cases for federal officials referred to it by the House.
- U.S. Senate: ArchivesThe secretary of the Senate and the clerk of the House are responsible for collecting "all the non-current records of the Congress and of each congressional committee and transfer[ring] them to the National Archives for preservation . . ." (42 U.S.C. 2118). The Senate archival collections document floor activities, committee activities, and general Senate administration.
- U.S. Senate Live HearingsThe U.S. Government broadcasts live hearings. To access them, use search terms such as "homeless", "COVID" "stimulus package" or "economic relief".