Resources
- The Buckeye FlameLaunched in June of 2020 as a 501c3 nonprofit newsroom, The Buckeye Flame is filling the lack of a statewide LGBTQ+ news and views platform in Ohio. With a Board and roster of writers comprised of LGBTQ+ and journalism luminaries from all across the state, the site quickly became a go-to source for original stories covering politics to policy to community celebration
- Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality CaucusThe mission of the Caucus is to work for LGBTQ+ rights, the repeal of laws discriminatory against LGBTQ+ persons, the elimination of hate-motivated violence and improved health and well-being for all persons, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. The Caucus serves as a resource for Members of Congress, their staff and the public on LGBTQ+ issues.
- Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love.
- Gender Bias: Detecting in LanguagesThis module introduces the idea of word embedding models and how they encode cultural biases. Students learn about one tool, Word Embedding Association Test, for uncovering these biases. Students apply their understanding to analyze the ethical issues that arise in real-world applications of machine learning.
- Gender Inclusive WritingThis resource is from UNC Chapel Hill.
- Human Rights Campaign Transgender VisibilityTransgender people come from all walks of life, and HRC Foundation has estimated that there are more than 2 million of us across the United States. We are parents, siblings, and kids. We are your coworkers, your neighbors, and your friends.
- Human Rights Watch: LGBTQ+Human Rights Watch works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender peoples' rights, and with activists representing a multiplicity of identities and issues. We document and expose abuses based on sexual orientation and gender identity worldwide.
- It Gets Better ProjectA nonprofit organization with a mission to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth around the globe.
- Resources for LGBTQI+ StudentsFrom the Office for Civil Rights and the U.S. Department of Education, up to date Title IX information
- Southern Poverty Law Center: Hate WatchHatewatch is a blog that monitors and exposes the activities of the American radical right.
- Tools for equality and inclusion (Human Rights Campaign)Our goal at the Human Rights Campaign is to ensure that every LGBTQ+ person is free to live their life openly, with their equal rights ensured. We know that goal requires that we keep educating, supporting and inspiring ourselves and each other. In the spirit of that continual growth, we’ve compiled information and advice on a range of topics, including resources from the HRC Foundation.
What are Open Educational Resources (OER) and how do they differ from Open Access (OA)?
Definition of Open Educational Resources (OER)
OER are freely and publicly available teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. For example, instructors may download the material, tailor it to one’s course, save a copy locally to share with one’s students and share it back out with attribution. OER can include textbooks, course materials and full courses, modules, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge. An open source (or open) textbook is a textbook which is OER.
Definition of Open Access (OA)
Open access refers to teaching, learning and research materials that are available free online for anyone to use as is, but they may not be revised, remixed, or redistributed. This terminology is typically used for scholarly works (journals, books, etc.), but can also refer to other class materials. Examples of OA materials include government documents, articles from open access journals, reports from think tanks.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Gay & Lesbian Studies
This link opens in a new window
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from over one hundred different sources and contains hundreds of thousands of records. - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Queer
- This link opens in a new window
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Gender Studies
This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Books is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université providing access to 27660 Academic peer-reviewed books from 379 publishers. - MERLOT: LGBTQ
- This link opens in a new window
MERLOT OpenCourseWare (OCW) provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers, contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. - MERLOT: Queer
- This link opens in a new window
MERLOT OpenCourseWare (OCW) provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers, contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. - OER Commons: LGBTQThe OER Commons Platform is a dynamic digital library and network owned and operated by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education. Depending on the subject area, there is a wide variety of resource formats; courses, textbooks, lectures, interactives, etc.
- Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS): Gay
This link opens in a new window
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from over one hundred different sources and contains hundreds of thousands of records.
- Coming Out Authentically (HRC)The Human Rights Campaign has resources to help you come out and live openly at home, at work and in your community.
- GLSENEvery day GLSEN works to ensure that LGBTQ students are able to learn and grow in a school environment free from bullying and harassment. Together, we can transform our nation’s K-12 schools into the safe and affirming environment all youth deserve.
- OutSupport CalendarLocal area events/support for LGBTQ+
- PFLAGPFLAG is the first and largest organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) people, their parents, families and allies. The first formal meeting took place on March 11, 1973 at the Metropolitan-Duane Methodist Church in Greenwich Village (now the Church of the Village).
- State Equality IndexGo to the map from the Human Rights Campaign to see a break down of state laws regarding LGBTQ+ housing, employment, healthcare, etc.
- Transgender Law CenterTransgender Law Center works to change law, policy, and attitudes so that all people can live safely, authentically, and free from discrimination regardless of their gender identity or expression. They envision a future where gender self-determination and authentic expression are seen as basic rights and matters of common human dignity.
- TransLifeTrans Lifeline provides trans peer support for our community that’s been divested from police since day one. We’re run by and for trans people.
- Trevor Project: Coming OutComing out isn’t always easy. After thinking it through, you may decide not to come out. You are valid and deserve support no matter who you do or do not share your identities with. Remember, there isn’t one right way to come out, and it’s YOUR choice.
- Archive Archives-The CenterThe following records contain detailed information for all Center Archive manuscript collections. You can also search The Center archive by specific topics or research areas.
- Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality CaucusThe mission of the Caucus is to work for LGBTQ+ rights, the repeal of laws discriminatory against LGBTQ+ persons, the elimination of hate-motivated violence and improved health and well-being for all persons, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. The Caucus serves as a resource for Members of Congress, their staff and the public on LGBTQ+ issues.
- Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
- Equaldex“Equaldex is a collaborative knowledge base for the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) movement. The site aims to crowdsource every law related to LGBT rights to provide a comprehensive and global view of the LGBT rights movement.”
- Library of Congress LBGTQ+ ResourcesThe Library of Congress began collecting motion pictures in 1893.This LBGTQ+'s subject collection link features films available online.
- ONE National Gay and Lesbian ArchivesPart of USC Digital Library -"ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online.
- OutHistory.orgReflecting the importance of history from below to the civil rights and liberation movements of the 1960s, This resource has the participation of amateur and professional historians; independent researchers working on their own and those based in colleges and universities. The result is the site you are exploring now, where all of us have a forum to learn, contribute, publish, and share our research with others.
- Supreme Court Considers Sex Discrimination Claims by Gay and Transgender WorkersCongressional Report: On October 8, 2019, the Supreme Court heard oral argument in Altitude Express, Inc. v. Zarda, Bostock v.
Clayton County, Georgia, and R.G. & G.R. Harris Funeral Homes, Inc. (Harris Homes) v. EEOC, a trio of cases in which the Court is considering for the first time whether the prohibition of employment discrimination “because of . . . sex” in Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII) encompasses discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity.
- Campus Pride InternshipsCampus Pride seeks college students with a desire to learn more about campus organizing and social justice issues to work as interns either remotely or at our home office based in Charlotte, NC. Interns have many opportunities to observe and participate in substantive work and develop resources to support student leaders across the United States.
- College Consensus Scholarship ListLGBTQ+ students have the fortunate situation of being able to choose from a wide variety of LGBTQ+ scholarships. These scholarships are made available by individuals and organizations who want to help support gay and other LGBTQ+ students as they work towards pursuing a college education.
- Pride ScholarshipGreater Cleveland LGBT Community Center offers scholarships.
- Scholarships from PointAdditional LGBTQ+ Scholarships
- Anti-Defamation League Hate Crime StatisticsSince 1990, The Hate Crime Statistics Act (HCSA) has required the Justice Department to collect statistics and report annually on hate crimes directed against individuals because of race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, disability, gender or gender identity.
- Corporate Equality Index 2020Human Rights Campaign Foundation’s Corporate Equality Index is the national benchmarking tool on corporate policies, practices and benefits pertinent to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer employees.
- Human Rights Watch: LGBTQ+Human Rights Watch works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender peoples' rights, and with activists representing a multiplicity of identities and issues. We document and expose abuses based on sexual orientation and gender identity worldwide.
- UN Statistics DivisionThe UN produces a large number of data related to population, family, health, work and politics, and gender. Search for "Gender Info" to access their database, but also use "Gender" or "ethnicity" to access articles and other reports related to these topics.
- Dayton LGBTQ Center Job ResourcesThe Greater Dayton LGBT Center is dedicated to maintaining a list of LGBT friendly business in the Greater Dayton Area. We want our community to be able to make safe decisions when trying new places.
- Jobs for Ohio Graduates (JOG)College readiness and transition to jobs during college.
- LGBTConnectJob searching tool recommended UMU's Career Development Office
- Plexus: LGBTQ and Allied Chamber of CommercePlexus is a strategic partner in the economic development of Northeast Ohio and serves as a point of connection for corporations, supporters, LGBT businesses and professionals. As the only LGBTQ business and professional organization in the region, we are more than a chamber of commerce; Plexus is a unique and influential network.
- PRISM CincinnatiPrism Cincinnati forges strategic alliances with other professional and business organizations and creates networking opportunities for LGBTQ and allied businesses.
Related Guides
Professional Organizations & Associations
- ACLU LGBT ProjectHelps protect young people’s right to express themselves, start gay-straight alliance clubs, have their gender identity respected, and be taught in a safe environment.
- PlexusPlexus is a strategic partner in the economic development of Northeast Ohio and serves as a point of connection for corporations, supporters, LGBT businesses and professionals. As the only LGBTQ business and professional organization in the region, we are more than a chamber of commerce; Plexus is a unique and influential network.