From the Shelves
Library Resource Accessibility
The library provides resources in print and electronic formats.
Print resources can be enhanced for Visually Impaired/Blind Students with devices provided by Student Accessibility Services.
E-resources at the library include the catalog system, databases, open access resources and LibGuides. Databases originate in the United States as well as over-seas. The majority of our databases are from a handful of vendors such as EBSCO and ProQuest. Most UMU databases, including open access databases are compliant with 508 Standards and the WCAG requirements. The catalog's platform is the EBSCO Discovery System. EBSCO complies with 508 Standards and meets Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) requirements. Databases listed in the A-Z Database have an icon 
with specific accessibility information.
The open access and open educational resources listed in the UMU A-Z Databases' link are chosen to comply with rigorous scholarly standards, copyright compliance applicable to educators, bibliographic citation accuracy and high accessibility standards. This icon designates an open access (OA) or open educational resource (OER): 
LibGuides have product compliant standards built into the design.
In addition, the library has a staff person who can communicate in American Sign Language.
- BookshareBookshare® is an ebook library for people with reading barriers. Bookshare has the most extensive collection of accessible ebooks in the world. It includes books for school, career, and reading pleasure, as well as titles in over 34 languages. The collection is supported by a dedicated volunteer community and partnerships with over 1000 US and international publishers.
Look here for updates regarding college textbook availability.
