EasySearch
- EasySearch
EasySearch is the UMU Library's Discovery Service, which combines all of our resources (books, articles, and more) into one giant database. If you don't know where to go or are searching for a niche topic, use EasySearch to get started.
Databases
- Music Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. It indexes music, musicians, and the music industry for periodicals, book reviews, obituaries, news, The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds.
- International Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Coverage: 1874 - current
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowUse the world’s most comprehensive database for multidisciplinary research. Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
- SocINDEX w/ Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is a robust sociology research database. It provides full-text, peerreviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
- Humanities with Full Text This link opens in a new windowHumanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- MEDLINE w/Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text journals.
Search Tips
Sometimes you might have difficulty finding articles about a particular song or artist in a database, especially if it is a large database like EasySearch. Here are some tips to narrow things down more effectively.
- Use quotation marks to search for the title as a phrase. Searching for "Better Man" instead of Better Man will cut through a lot of the noise and help you find relevant articles.
- Add a few more details. If you are looking at a song or artist with a generic name, add additional details such as particular albums, the name of band members, or simply words like 'musician.' If the band name is more unique, like Toad the Wet Sprocket, it is probably fine on its own.
The ability to identify and break down the main concepts of your topic into a search strategy a fundamental skill of the research process. The following tutorial is an example of breaking down a topic in Academic Search Complete.
Field searching allows you greater control over your search by choosing where in the record you want to search for those keywords. This can give you greater precision when searching and allow you to apply some context to the search. For example, if the keywords appear in the abstract of the article, it might be more relevant for your needs. Use the drop-down menu to the right of each search box to select a field. See the above image for some examples of the most commonly-used fields.
Limit yourself to changing the field for one or two concepts at the start, as you might otherwise reduce the pool of results too much. If the search does not turn out the way you wish, experiment and try field searching with other keywords.
Databases often have a variety of filters that you can use to narrow down the results. You can apply these filters before the search or at any point afterwards.
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals: Ensures that you are only seeing peer reviewed journal articles. You likely want this on in most cases.
Full Text: Only display articles that have full text available. While convenient, you may miss great articles that you can still order through Interlibrary Loan.
Year Range: Only show articles that were published in this date range.
Subject: Filter the results by the most common subject headings
Research Tutorials
- CREDO Info Lit and Critical Thinking Modules This link opens in a new windowTired of having trouble finding sources and wishing to improve your research skills? The Credo Instruct modules offer a full course of tutorials and videos that help you learn everything you need to know to become a better researcher, from how to get started to the mechanics of searching to citations. To access this resource, you need to connect while on-campus.
No Full Text?
Only have the citation? You can use EasySearch or the Journal Finder to see if we have the article in a different database. If we do not, we can still order it for you through Interlibrary Loan.