Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library 101: Northeast Ohio Libraries

Purple Plus Card Benefits

University of Mount Union Purple Plus CardAll students, faculty, and staff at the University of Mount Union have borrowing privileges through the university libraries. We welcome the opportunity to provide you access to our print and electronic resources.

With your Purple Plus Card, you can do the following:

  • borrow books and eBooks
  • use our library databases
  • borrow physical items for free through Interlibrary Loan, OhioLINK (college and university libraries in Ohio), and SearchOhio (Ohio public libraries)

 

 

Get a Library Card

Akron-Summit County Public Library Logo

 

Anyone living, working, or attending school in Ohio may obtain a library card free of charge at any library location.

Register for an online library card

With your online library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • read digital magazines with RBDigital & Flipster
  • watch movies and TV with hoopla, Kanopy, and RBDigital
  • download the library's mobile app
  • receive free homework help with Tutor.com
  • learn coding skills with Vidcode
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • prepare for graduate school exams with Mometrix

 

Barberton Public Library Logo

Register for an online library card for access to the library's ebook and digital magazines collection. If you want access to their physical collection, complete the adult card application and bring in the application along with valid Ohio state identification.

With the eCard, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the CLEVNET eMedia Collection
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the CLEVNET eMedia Collection
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

Canal Fulton Public Library Logo

 

Register for a library card. Applicants must provide proof of address in order to be issued a card.

As a library card holder, you have access to the following:

  • eBooks from hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • audiobooks from hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • movies and TV shows from hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library

 

 

Cleveland Public Library logo

Library card eligibility

  • Permanent residents of Ohio
  • Ohio students
  • Permanent Ohio employees
  • Ohio property owners

Apply for an eCard

With your eCard, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • read popular magazines with Flipster and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • watch movies with hoopla, Kanopy, and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • watch TV shows with hoopla
  • listen to music with Freegal Music, hoopla, and Naxos Music Library
  • prepare for graduate school exams with Testing and Education Reference Center

Any resident of Ohio with proof of current address and driver's license is eligible for a Columbiana Public Library card. Visit the branch to sign up for a library card.

With the library card, you can

  • read ebooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • read magazines with OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • borrow albums and listen to music with hoopla
  • watch TV shows with hoopla
  • watch movies with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

 

All Ohio residents are eligible to get a library card. Complete the online application if you have never had a card with Cuyahoga County before.

With your library card, you can

  • use your card at all Cleveland Public Library branches and CLEVNET member libraries
  • read eBooks with OverDrive/Libby
  • listen to digital audiobooks with OverDrive/Libby
  • read magazines with Flipster and PressReader
  • read comic books and graphic novels with hoopla
  • watch movies and TV shows with Kanopy, hoopla, and OverDrive/Libby
  • borrow music with hoopla
  • borrow learning resources for kids with BookFlix, CreativeBug, hoopla, Kanopy, TumbleBooks, and TumbleMath
  • get homework help with Tutor.com
  • learn a new skill or language with Learning Express Library, Lynda.com/LinkedIn Learning, Mango Languages, and Transparent Language Online
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library

Geauga County Public Library logo

Apply online for an eCard

With an eCard, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla, Indie Ohio, and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • read magazines with OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

 

Apply for an eCard to have access to the library's electronic resources. If you have a physical library card, you do not need an eCard.

You are eligible for an eCard if you have permanent residence in Ohio, own property in Ohio, and attend school in Ohio.

With your eCard, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla, OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET, and Freading
  • read comic books with hoopla
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • borrow albums with hoopla
  • watch movies and TV shows with Acorn TV, hoopla, Kanopy, OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET, and Stingray Qello
  • read magazines with Flipster, OverDrive, PressReader, and RBDigital
  • learn something new with CreativeBug, Great Courses, and Lynda.com
  • get homework help with Tutor.com
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

Louisville Public Library Logo

 

The Rodman Public Library card can be used to borrow materials from Louisville Public Library and vice versa. Louisville does not have an online library card application. Visit the branch to sign up for a library card.

As a library card holder, you can:

  • read eBooks from hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks from hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch movies and TV shows from hoopla
  • borrow music and comic books from hoopla
  • read magazines from OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • take online courses with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

Massillon Public Library logo

Ohio residents are eligible for a library card with Massillon Public Library. Complete the online application for a library card.

As a library card holder, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla,  OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library, and TumbleBooks
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch movies with hoopla
  • borrow albums with hoopla
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

Apply for an eCard if you meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • have permanent residence in Ohio
  • own property in Ohio
  • attend school in Ohio
  • work in Ohio

With an eCard, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • read comic books with hoopla
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through CLEVNET
  • read magazines with RBDigital
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla and Kanopy
  • borrow music with hoopla
  • maintain your car with Chilton Library
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library

North Canton Public Library logo

 

You do not have to live in the North Canton city limits to get a library card.

With the North Canton Public Library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch The Great Courses Video Library collection
  • watch TV shows and movies with Acorn TV, hoopla, Kanopy, and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • stream music with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

 

 

 

Portage County District Library

If you live, work, or attend school in Ohio, you are eligible for a library card. Along with the application, you must submit proof of residency.

With your library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • read graphic novels and comics with hoopla
  • read magazines with Flipster
  • watch movies with hoopla and Kanopy
  • learn new skills with CreativeBug and LinkedIn Learning
  • borrow albums with hoopla
  • watch TV shows with hoopla
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

The Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County

Apply online for a digital library card for access to the library's digital collection. A physical library card will be mailed.

With a digital library card, you can:

  • read eBooks and comics with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby
  • read magazines with Flipster
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla
  • borrow music with hoopla
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) and Universal Class
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library

 

Rodman Public Library logo

All University of Mount Union students, faculty, and staff are eligible to apply for a library card to borrow items from the library's physical and virtual collections.

As a library card holder, you can:

  • read eBooks with axis360, hoopla, OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library, and TumbleBooks
  • listen to digital audiobooks with axis360, hoopla, and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla, OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library, and TumbleBooks
  • listen to music and read comic books with hoopla
  • read magazines with OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

Salem Public Library Logo

Complete the online application in order to get a card.

With your online library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your car with Chilton Library

Stark County District Library

Register online for a library card.

With your Stark Library Online Card, you can:

  • read ebooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • read magazines with Flipster, OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library, and RBDigital
  • read comics with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • borrow music with hoopla
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center
  • learn new skills with CreativeBug and LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • prepare for graduate school exams with Testing and Education Reference Center

 

 

State Library of Ohio logo

If you are a state employee or an Ohio resident, you are eligible to complete the online application for a library card.

With your online library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks with OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library

Permanent Ohio residents are eligible to apply for a digital library card.

With your digital library card, you can:

  • read books with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • listen to digital audiobooks with hoopla and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • watch TV shows with Acorn TV and hoopla
  • watch movies with hoopla, Kanopy, and OverDrive/Libby through the Ohio Digital Library
  • learn new skills with Creativebug and LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • read magazines with Flipster
  • download or stream music with Freegal and hoopla
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center

 

Tuscarawas County Public Library logo

 

Complete the online application to request a digital library card

With the digital library card, you can:

  • read eBooks with OverDrive
  • read comics with hoopla
  • read magazines with Flipster
  • listen to digital audiobooks with OverDrive
  • watch movies and TV shows with hoopla
  • borrow albums with hoopla
  • learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
  • maintain your home and car with Chilton Library and Home Improvement Reference Center
  • prepare for graduate school exams using Learning Express Library